About Dakota Lamb Growers Cooperative

The Dakota Lamb Growers Co-op was started 17 years ago and is made up of small and large sheep producers. One of the benefits of belonging to the DLGC is that a producer can deliver as small a load as 25 lambs to our approved buyer. We have a contract with Superior Farms (kill floor based in Denver), in year 2 of a 5 year contract, for Antibiotic Free (no antibiotics, ever!) Lamb. This contract is currently returning above the live price. New members have an option to join in December 2017 (active January 2018). Superior also accepts commodity lambs (but is moving to a larger percentage of its supply being ABF).
We also have an upcoming contract that uses biomolecules produced by genetically-selected sheep in the treatment of Huntington’s Disease. This contract is in its initial phases as we are waiting for clinical trials of GM1 to be conducted. (For more information on this project, visit http://www.glycoscienceresearch.com/)
The DLGC Board of Directors is currently searching for additional opportunities for contracts for our members. Although the co-op marketed lamb directly when it began, it no longer does so.
The Co-op retains a $3.50/head administrative fee from each lamb delivered. From this fee, DLGC is able to host two member meetings per year–one in summer and the annual meeting in December. We have also had opportunities for lot purchase discounts on such supplies as milk replacer, and invaluable networking opportunities among fellow member-Producers. Superior Farms is also supportive in helping you incorporate the ABF regimen into your production scheme.
In order to become a member of DLGC, you must purchase one share of Membership Stock ($100), and a minimum of 50 shares of Equity Stock if you deliver to an Approved Packer such as Superior Farms. The Board of Directors will vote on your membership. At the time of approval, a list of members who have Equity Shares for sale will be forwarded to you.

DLGC Manager is Phyllis Pates, 21867 466th Ave, Volga, SD  57071

dakotalambgrowers@gmail.com; 605-695-5157

DLGC Board of Directors

President, Susan Holler (South Dakota)

Vice President, Riley Braaten (South Dakota)

Secretary, Chad Hasbargen (Minnesota)

Treasurer, David Peterson  (South Dakota)

Director, Travis Fowler (Minnesota)

Director, Kelley O’Neill (Minnesota)

Director, Terry Ness (South Dakota)

%d bloggers like this: